image for 2020 WGC Screenwriting Awards Finalists Announced

Congratulations to all the 2020 Writers’ Guild of Canada Award Nominees. It was an honour and a thrill to be nominated for Best Preschool Writing for Nelvana’s THE REMARKABLE MR KING among all those other remarkable writers and shows. Kudos to JJ Johnson, Christin Simms and Amish Patel on their win for DINO DANA.

The WGC Screenwriting Awards are now in their 24th year of celebrating and acknowledging the best of the best in Canadian screenwriting and the all-important talent behind the creation of the most engaging and powerful Canadian-made series, films, documentaries and webseries.

The WGC Screenwriting Awards will recognize and celebrate Canadian screenwriters and their scripts at a gala ceremony on April 27, 2020 at Toronto’s Koerner Hall (ticket info is coming soon to wgc.ca). Gavin Crawford, writer, comedian, and host of CBC Radio’s Because News, returns as this year’s host along with his long-time collaborator, screenwriter Kyle Tingley, as awards show writer.